Charging system- Yet another Question

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

turbosl2

Again, i thank all of you for your help while i try to recondition my new purchase (2003 challanger M2 Carb).

Today i put a meter on my battery, 12.88 volts with key on engine off, fired it up for about 10secs and gave her a couple revs and never saw the battery voltage move.

My question is, does it take a min for the charging system to work (e.g. voltage regulator sense the voltage and close the circuit)? Or does this happen instantly. I am a mechanic and in the automotive industry the charging system works instantly. This is the 15amp system without an alternator

If the system is not charging what do you guys see as the fualt normally? Voltage regulator/rectifier? Or does the windings on the stator usually go bad. I am not sure how the windings are wired, i have consistant spark on all cylinders, is this tied to the stators windings for charging as well, leading me to believe the voltage regulator is burned up.

Thanks

Again, i thank all of you for your help while i try to recondition my new purchase (2003 challanger M2 Carb).

Today i put a meter on my battery, 12.88 volts with key on engine off, fired it up for about 10secs and gave her a couple revs and never saw the battery voltage move.

My question is, does it take a min for the charging system to work (e.g. voltage regulator sense the voltage and close the circuit)? Or does this happen instantly. I am a mechanic and in the automotive industry the charging system works instantly. This is the 15amp system without an alternator