Carburetor help: Can I interchange 787 carbs from one machine to another

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

XP8001996

Hello all,

I have a 1997 Sea Doo XP 800 that needs some new carbs. I have the old ones, but they have some rust in them and I got them all taken apart so I was just thinking of getting some good used ones off eBay. My question is: I am having trouble finding carbs on eBay that came from a XP 787, but there are plenty that came off of a 1997 SPX 787, GSX 787, and GTX 787. Since they are all 787 engines, can I put carbs from a SPX 787, GSX 787 or a GTX 787 on my XP 787 with no issues? Any other websites you guys now of where I can find good used carbs for under $300?

Thanks in advance

I am new to the jet ski world, but I will say it depends on how the carbs are set up as in, jet size, pop off pressure, maybe other things. There are others that know a whole lot more than I do that can tell you better, you should be able to check specs in service manuals for the different ski's, possibly different hull designs, drag, weight, etc could make minor differences in the setup of the carbs. You can change jets, pop off pressure and other settings, so I think they should work as long as you do your homework and make sure all is the same.

They should bolt right up. Either way I would tear down the "new" carbs and go through them, make sure its super clean and the diaphragms are in good shape.

Yep anything off a 787 should work, just a word of advice, I would try to find a set pre 1997 without the accelerator pump, to me the accelerator pump is a PITA and you won't notice any difference in performance.

Lou

Last edited by a moderator:
The carbs will bolt right on. I would verify the jetting, high and low sped adjusters and at the minimum go through the carbs. You don't want to put on "new" carbs that have clogged filters and ruin an engine.