Can't pull a water skier?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Manitoba_guy

I'm pretty new to the PWC experience. I bought a used 02 gtx ltd. It a pretty great machine but the "hole shot" is terrible. I keep hitting the rev limiter trying to pull a water skier out of the water, just can't get him up. The top speed is pretty fast but the that's it. Looked at the wear ring and impeller and didn't see much damage other then nicks and scratches. Is the 155 just a big lazy seadoo? Maybe I need a better impeller? Any thought or opinions would be great!

It sounds like something is not working right, that ski shouldn't have much problem w/a skier. I have more experience w/the 2 strokes though...

learning key? normal key?
last oil change?
what's max RPM and top speed?
photos of impeller + ring?

how big is the skier? You should easily be able to pull out reasonable sized skiier's. I agree with Sabr, check the impeller wear ring...I had same problem on my 96 GTI

Myself and the skier are NOT light weights, I'm about 235lb he's about 220lb. The max rpm is 7500'ish. Oil is clean and full. I'll have a better look at the impeller and ring today and post pics.

My bro and I are the same, ill try to get him to pull me out today and see if it works, normally I pull the kids around

Ok so I had a good look at the impeller and wear ring. The ring looks perfect but the impeller looks like the previous owner was to cheap to replace it and took a grinder to it. It doesn't look bad other than the edges look rough.

Sounds like cavitation for sure. The wear ring only needs small knicks and it wont give you the pickup with a heavy load. You would be suprised really how small dings make a big impact. Take a pic of the ring and impeller and post it up.