Can anyone recommend a good Solar Powered battery charger/minder for Marine Batteries?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
I live in AZ and where I will be parking my boat I don't have access to power to plug in a battery charger/tender. Wondering if anyone has tried the SOLAR versions and have a brand they recommend...would also like to find one that is weather proof, as it seems some don't handle rain at all. I have two batteries onboard my 2001 Seadoo Challenger 2000 that I will need to keep charged up.

I've been using the following one with good success for 3 years. I have it connected to my 2nd battery (accessory). When sitting in my driveway I flip my battery switch to both and it keeps both batteries charged. When I'm out on the lake and engine is off I flip the battery switch to 2 (accessory battery) and plug this in to give it some solar juice. I also got a SAE port plug that I wired in to the boat so I can easily connect and disconnect. Can't say it's the best option or not but works for me.

I went with the 5 watt one because it was cheaper but it's also listed as a trickle charger. The 10 and 15 watt don't have "trickle" listed for them. If I had to buy another one I would probably go with the 15 watt.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004Q83TGO/ref=oh_aui_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N57XLNS/ref=oh_aui_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Mine is basically like slaizer's, works great. I also have it hooked to the 2nd battery. I just have the cord come out under the seat and plug in the panel when I know the boat is going to sit for more than a few days.

Also got one of these to hardwire the sae connector to the battery. The clamps that come with the solar charger probably won't stay put while boating.

1551212386567.png