Broken Steering Nut - Serious Leak 2003 XP DI

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

groverxp

This is just for reference. I recently was on the lake and noticed my ski ('04 XP DI) rapidly filling up with water when turned off. I anchor my ski a few feet from shore, so as not to get damaged, so it is constantly in the water. Now, I am fairly new to owning a jet ski and recently dropped in without the plugs in so I'm pretty cautious of monitoring the hull for water. Anyways, as I noticed the ski was starting to fill I decide to pull it out before it was to late. However, once I drove the ski to the ramp it was empty. After, a little research on various forums I realized that this is because of the bilge pump(s) which pump out the water. Anyways, I backed my ski down the ramp and into the water to try and locate the source of the leak. I could clearly hear the water coming into the hull, as the link shows, but couldn't see it because it was tucked up under a bunch of hoses. I ended up having to fill the battery compartment with a water hose to see where water would leak out. Two things on this part; first, I knew the leak was coming from the area around the jet pump so I didn't have to fill it very much and secondly, I made sure the ski was on a decline so the water would pool up against the pump area. Once I did this, it was clear water was spilling out directly from the plastic nut which the steering cable protrudes from. A four step fix which cost me less than $9;

1. Buy the part from you local Seadoo dealer, I assume the steering nut is somewhat universal or they sell a lot of them as the salesman didn't even need my model year etc. You'll want to get the nut as well as the gasket.