Broken Steering and aftermarket fuel filter

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

Newbie here so please dont be overly technical in your answers :) I was out at the local lake yesterday with the family on my 2001 GTS doing some moderate turns nothing crazy though when suddenly I can only turn right at idle or very low speed. As soon as I get to about 1/3 throttle it wont turn right, and at full throttle I have to hold the steering ALL the way to the right just to stay straight. I tracked the problem down to a plastic piece in the rear where the steering assembly comes out of the hull and connects to the nozzle. I am attaching pics. My question is how do I replace this part, and do I just need to order it or others also? I figure someone on here has dealt with a similar issue since this piece is plastic.....

Also, I have attached some pics of the fuel gauge my ride has on it from the PO. I have had some problems of the Doo dying at idle, and rough (almost not) restarts after anchoring at the beach for about 15-30 min. I figured this has to do with a weak battery or something with this filter. Also, the stock filter is removed completely...dont know why.

Attachments

• DSCN1752.jpg
    DSCN1752.jpg
    313.3 KB · Views: 26
  • DSCN1753.jpg
    DSCN1753.jpg
    307.6 KB · Views: 22
  • DSCN1754.jpg
    DSCN1754.jpg
    248.3 KB · Views: 24
  • DSCN1755.jpg
    DSCN1755.jpg
    285.2 KB · Views: 23
  • DSCN1756.jpg
    DSCN1756.jpg
    209.6 KB · Views: 21
If the threads aren't striped on the ride plate it looks like all you would need are the following parts, one #74 cable lock, 2ea. half ring, and one #69 rubber washer, click parts above.

http://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche.com/seadooforums/Seadoo_oem/Seadoo_PWC.asp?Type=13&A=85&B=16

Looks easy enough to replace, just unscrew part no. 71 from the end of the cable assembly.