Battery charger question

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

bw23198

Hi. I'm new to jetboating and this forum so forgive me if this seems like basic knowledge to everyone else. I recently purchased a used 2007 Speedster 150 with 155HP 4Tec. The previous owner installed a nice sound system on it and installed an additional battery to power it. Both batteries were wired to a Perko switch (model 8501). Before he sold me the boat he removed the second battery. I'm planning on getting the second battery this weekend and hooking it up prior to my first use on the boat. The previous owner also recommended that I buy a Guest charger to keep the batteries fully charged while the boat is parked in my garage. Looking at the Guest product line I see a few different options. I know I'll need a dual battery charger, but am not sure if I'll need a trolling charger or cruising charger. I also don't know how many amps I need the charger to handle. My existing battery is an Interstate 24M-XHD 800 CCA 1000 MCA SPR. This doesn't appear to be a deep cycle battery so I will probably try to get one of those for my second battery. Any advice is greatly appriciated!

-Brian

You shouldn't need a second battery charger for your batteries unless you use the power while it is setting on the trailer. The switch should allow both batteries to charge up while under way. If you want to charge up the batteries after setting for a while you need to charge them up with a 2amp. trickle charger. Be sure the power to the seadoo electrical is off so it won't surge anything on the seadoo,by back tracking into the electrical system.

Karl