Advice on 2003 Utopia 185 Purchase

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

DAD

Hi All,

I'm new to Seadoo Forum, but have been viewing from the sidelines for a while now. I am astounded by the wealth of info here! Big thanks to all members.

On to my question... (and hope I am posting in the right place)

I am currently speaking to a dealer about a used 2003 Seadoo Utopia 185 (240 Merc EFI). I'm told that the boat has had a single owner and has been serviced by this dealer since new (prev. owner traded in for a fishing boat). Dealer is having technicians look over the boat tomorrow morning to provide compression results. I understand from other posts here that I should look for results on all cylinders that are within approx. 5% of eachother. What I have not found are min, good and excellent compression ranges. Could someone please let me know?

Although the dealer seems reputable and has been very helpful, I am troubled by a comment made today on the phone. He told me that they were not able to hook up the computer to the engine to determine hours. Problem is something about year of the boat vs. the diagnostic equipment. Does this make sense? Also, if the boat returns good compression results, what extra information does the hour reading provide? What other information does the diagnostic provide?

I will be be testing the boat on Friday. Should I also be bringing the boat to another Merc tech to confirm compression and get diagnotic completed?

Any advice would be very much appreciated. This is my first real step into the power boat world so it is all very new to me.

Many Thanks,
Mike V.