97 seadoo gsx cranks but won’t start

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fernando rides

So I just rebuilt the engine on a project 97 seadoo gsx and the problem is it will crank over with spark just fine, but won’t start. I know the motor has good compression because it was just rebuilt and the battery and plugs are new too so the spark is good. I put new fuel lines in and rebuilt the carbs so I really don’t know what to do next.

I’ve rebuilt many other of my toys but I’m new to seadoos so any help and tips or tricks to get it running would be very much appreciated

Thanks in advance!!

So I just rebuilt the engine on a project 97 seadoo gsx and the problem is it will crank over with spark just fine, but won’t start. I know the motor has good compression because it was just rebuilt and the battery and plugs are new too so the spark is good. I put new fuel lines in and rebuilt the carbs so I really don’t know what to do next.

I’ve rebuilt many other of my toys but I’m new to seadoos so any help and tips or tricks to get it running would be very much appreciated

Thanks in advance!!

Sounds like you may not be getting fuel to the carbs, you may need to prime it a little. Take the return line off the back of the carbs that feeds back up to the tank and blow in it. Keep blowing until you get fuel to the carbs. I replaced my fuel lines with clear tygon, so I was able to visually see it moving along. You may need to disconnect at the inlet on the front of the carbs to verify if you used non clear lines.

Fully charged battery, hold the choke open, hit it for about 10 seconds at a time, within the third try or so it should start right up. Then start setting the idle and so forth, make sure it's fairly stable running before turning on the hose. Then make sure hose off first, blip the throttle a few times then load up and go get on the water..