97 gtx wont rev past 4700 rpm. HELP!?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Geeledouche

Newbie here.

I recently purchased a set of 97 sleds. a GTX and a GSX. I really like the gtx because of its size but I finally took it out for a spin yesterday and once I got out of the wakeless zone I gunned it and it didn't hardly move. the throttle stumbled a lot and I had to kind of milk the throttle just to keep it running. After about 10-15 minutes of trying everything I can think of to get it to rev higher, if I SLOWLY increased throttle it would finally get up to 4500-4700 rpms and stay there as long as I held the throttle in, but as soon as I let off it would bogg out and try to die.. I know its idle is low. In the water its only around 780 rpms at idle and it kept dying. Ive done a lot of googling (frankly it was a little disheartening for my first time on a jetski) and it gives me some ideas like to clean the rave valves. Ive never done that before but the videos make it look pretty easy. I'm guessing a carb problem could also cause this type of problem too couldn't it? any other suggestions on what to look for or what I can do to get her going?

Also, I forgot to mention,, once I got the machines home I started the gtx up and it revs up just fine out of the water. Maxed out around 6700 rpms or so. no hesitation or sputtering. It would hit the 6700 ish max then back itself off a little.

Thanks for the help guys!

ps- the gsx also had problems on its first ride. the VTS was stuck in the top position and wouldn't move. After a brief google search I found that the motors go bad frequently. I popped the cover and it was corroded badly, so I ordered a new motor I'm fairly certain that will fix the issue with the VTX. other than that it ran very well.

Last edited: