97 Gsx 787 crankcase full of oil

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

billyed99

This is my first time on the forum and first time messing with a jetski. I just bought two 97 gsx's both are bone stock and under 90 hrs. One is running one isn't. The non running one has been sitting since 08 and was hydrolocked with oil when I got it. It made a he'll of a mess when I turned it over with no plug! Most of it is coming from the front cylinder but there was a little in the rear. So I pulled the carbs and rotary valve off and oil is right up to the intake on the front cylinder. I'm assuming it's gotta be a crank seal or a bad seal between the case halves but was hoping for someone to back my assumption up. If that is the case what's the best way to get the engines out? I'm used to working on snowmobiles with a lot more room!

Thanks in advance

I replied in your other post, here is a cut and paste.

There is a crank shaft il seal that either goes bad or wears the crank. If they sit for some time, the oil will drain from the tank and pass by the seal. Once it does this, it fills the engine.

Pull the plugs, put a towel over the holes as it will shoot out under great pressure. Crank the engine a bit off and on (don't over heat the starter), until the oil is pretty much gone. Refill the oil tank and you will be good to go.

Many put shut off valves on the oil lines to prevent this while their skis sit. If you choose to do so, I STRONGLY suggest you hang your lanyard on the valve anytime you close the valve.

In theory it is an easy repair but in reality it requires the engine to be pulled and often a new crank.

I read your post from the Meet and Greet..

Shocking how the oil come out huh...LOL

You are in the right section. We have some members that know everything there is to know about 2-strokes. A couple of members that can help with parts as well.

:agree: