96' Speedster with "electrical problem" won't start..???

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

tdk19890

Hi guys, first off let me introduce myself as this is my first post. Im TDK im here in sunny Orlando, Florida. I am a novice boater and am just starting to get my feet wet.

My question: I am looking at possible purchasing a 1996 Speedster from a guy who says the boat was running great but now seems to have an "electrical problem and won't start" He posts that it is "twin 85 hp engines 170 hp, new batteries, new impeller, Boat is in good shape electrical problem won't allow the engines to start. I think the ignition needs replacing"
This is what he told me. Is this possible to be an easy fix or are there a few other things I should be worried about? Here's a pic of the engines attached.
137.jpg

Thanks,

It could be any easy fix... or it can be a nightmare.

The simple.....

1) could be a fuse
2) could be a bad connector
3) the lanyard post could be bad/dirty. (it has a security chip in it)

The bad.....

1) could be a bad MPEM. (Very expensive, and hard to get) It can be adapted with other units, but still cost about $700

2) Since you can't hear the boat run, you could have 2 bad engines too.

3) since you can't take it out for a ride, both jet pumps may need rebuilt.

Personally... if it's a non running boat... it's worth $1000 to $1500 depending on it's physical condition. AND... if you can't do your own work... it's not worth it. Dealer prices are very high, and they can basically charge you want they want to do the trouble shooting.

corrosion