96 seadoo xp 800 cylinder replacement?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
So there is a man on Craigslist who is selling a 96 xp 800 with a "burnt down cylinder" and he said it would be a fast fix. He is selling for 600. Would it be a hard or stupid risk? I'm very new to problems of this caliber so please, work with me. If anyone could explain it to me in depth for what a burnt cylinder is and how easy or hard and not reasonable it is, I would really appreciate it. Also, I am not alone in getting it going, I have friends and adult people who are pretty good with motors and 2 strokes to help me.

Most likely the engine will need to be removed from the craft, torn down and analyzed for a rebuild or replaced with a remanufactured engine.

Occasionally, the top end can be replaced while the engine remains in the craft, but repairs like that are dependent on the condition of the engine and how badly it was damaged, this method can become a waste of time and money it ti doesn't go well.

So it really depends on the overall condition of the engine, most likely it will need a reman engine and whatever else might be wrong elsewhere, like gauges and other electronics, it's a bit of a crapshoot when buying a craft that doesn't run.

If that is the original engine, its time for rebuild. By just doing the top end, you are adding more force to the weak/tired bottom end. And that will cause a bearing or rod failure in the bottom end in the near future. You also have to determine the cause of the failure. If lack of oil, bearings in bottom end would have suffered as well. Heat causes fluids to break down, stresses metals. Lean conditions melt holes in pistons.

I only replace a top end if I know the cause of the failure and/or if the bottom end is fairly new, or its a beater ski and i don't want to pour a bunch of money into it.