96 Seadoo Sportster 717 Crankcase Leak?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

shendricks25

Hi everyone, I'm Stephanie. This is my first time posting and owning a boat. I purchased a 1996 Seadoo Sportster with the 717 motor after being told it only needed a shifter cable. I replaced it myself thanks to SBT. When I put it in the water, it ran like like a champ for about 30 minutes, then it bogged out and even at full throttle would not go past approximately 5 mph, however it was not not revving high. It never died on me and still starts right up. It is leaking water out of the purple exhaust pipe and leaking from a gap in the seal where the bottom part of the crankcase is clearly bowed out a bit from the top portion. I have photos. I checked the compression and it is 150 in one cylinder and 140 in the other. I am now clearly concerned because this was supposed to be something that the kids and I could make memories with being that we live on Lake Huron, but now it sits in my driveway because I sank my savings into it (lessons learned). Can anyone please help out with some options and suggestions? Hopefully the water leak is the only thing causing it to bog out after 30 mins or so. I know it's going to cost me, but how much is the question. I assumed gaskets and maybe a weld or JB Weld on the exhaust, but I'm lost if I have to try and switch out the case due to the dissembling of the motor. I would like to have it back out this year before the end of the season. I do have a manual, but don't know all the terminology quite yet. Thanks everyone in advance!!!

Attachments

• IMG_9083.JPG
    IMG_9083.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 103
  • IMG_9086.JPG
    IMG_9086.JPG
    802.6 KB · Views: 104
  • IMG_2207.jpg
    IMG_2207.jpg
    8.7 KB · Views: 97
  • IMG_1977.jpg
    IMG_1977.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 99