96 gtx won't start, box with solenoid had water in it

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

JustWannaRide

96 thx won't start, box with solenoid got water. I didn't realize one of the ears on the box got broke. I'm new to jetskis and when we put it in the water the drain plugs weren't shut. It didn't get full of water probably only a couple inches. Prior to it, the jet ski worked great. After, it would just make a clicking noise. After I replaced the solenoid, it makes a loud click and has aounded like its trying to turn over only a couple times when pressing the start about ten times. Where should I look for problems? Unfortunately in my area there are very few places that work on these ans the ones that do have horrible reviews. In hoping to be able to get it started and take the kids for some rides this summer. Thanks so much!

Remove the PTO cover and spark plugs and see if you can turn the engine by hand. If you can't, then the engine probably has water in it. Not good

If it turns by hand, then it's probably the starter

I don't mean to sound like I have no clue but, any chance you could give me a little more detail. I can take the plugs out but how would I turn it by hand? Thanks

You are going to remove the grey plastic cover on the back of the engine where the driveshaft connects. Then you should be able to turn the rear flywheel (PTO) by hand.

Thanks, ill try that. So far, I removed both the spark plugs and when I did both of them are dirty, one almost looks like it has a brown rust liquid on the end of it. Am I pretty much screwed?