96 GSX quit running, won't start

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
I was riding my 1996 GSX on Labor Day weekend. At one point there was a lack of power. I would give it throttle, the engine would rev but no power. Since we had just received 2 days of rain from the remnants of hurricane Harvey, the lake was several feet higher than full pool with a lot of debris. I figured that something was blocking the impeller. I shut it down and my brother towed my to a nearby dock. I checked the intake and felt nothing there. After waiting several minutes I started it up and it seemed to be good. Ran it for a quarter mile or so and it quit. Shut off just like I pulled the key. It won't restart. It cranks but doesn't seem to be firing. I put in new plugs (BR8ES 5422 thanks to the forum) but no joy. Disconnected the fuel line at the Y just before the engine and it had fuel in it.

I'm not a mechanic and I plan on taking it to see one tomorrow. Eventually I want to start doing this kind of thing on my own. That's why I'm posting this situation.

Welcome to the Boards!

Good knowledgeable people here for sure!

I have the exact make/model as You do since Aug. 1996 and just recently completed a full engine rebuild along with other items that needed attention.

So can I ask you if the ski has grey Tempo fuel lines on it? It'll say "Tempo" "USCG approved B-1" on the lines. If so, immediately replace those fuel lines as they internally break down and clog the carb microfilters and restrict fuel flow to the engine and will cause a lean seizure and engine damage.

Next question...when have the carbs last been rebuilt?
If recently. Were genuine Mikuni parts along with new Mikuni needle/seats installed?

How about the fuel selector and water/fuel separator? Have they also been replaced?

Is this ski new to You and don't know the history or have you owned it since new and do know where it's been?