95 SPX runs good for 10 minutes then barely runs/dies

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey! so i just bought a Seadoo SPX with the 657x engine. It runs great for 10 minutes, has good idle starts easy etc.. but after i've been riding it for about 10 minutes, it starts bogging down and wants to die. it only runs on idle (barely) even dies sometimes. And does not want to start again until it's cold. I have cleaned the carbs, changed all the gray fuellines, and cleaned the fuel selector etc. I'm new to pwc's, what do you guys think can be the problem? i just can't wait to ride it and want to fix the problem asap!

How do plugs look? Had an issue similar to what you were describing and if you've refreshed the fuel system properly then I'd replace the sparkplugs as an added measure, sending us a picture of their condition too would be helpful.

Replacing the plugs (and caps since it used to foul plugs a good amount) fixed all my issues. Also cutting the plug wire back .5cm.

To take the caps off just remove the zipties and pull lightly while turning counterclockwise (left.) Installation is the opposite.

Assuming motor is healthy?

This info idea general, not 2 stroke or seadoo specific.
Could be a coil (pickup coil or spark plug coil). Sometimes coils work cold but then have issues when they warm up.
I'd say check for spark when it won't start, but it could be sparking still, just not every engine rpm. I suppose if you had an oscilloscope you could know for sure. Just switch those parts with a known good one and you'll know soon enough.
I've heard of cdi s doing the same thing when it gets hot, but it would be a well known issue if seadoo had this problem.

Try opening the gas cap when it quits, could be the vent creating a vacuum and starving for fuel. If that’s not it you are going to have to see if it’s loosing spark when it quits.