2014 SEA DOO GTI 130 SE multiple issues, IBR light, Flush question, accelerates

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

BajaBound

HI,
i am new to all of this and i apologize if i am not posting in the correct place.

i am looking for advice on a few different topics. my sea-doo @ 70hrs has started to accelerate "by itself" when at idle randomly. we take it in the salt water to tow surf, which is the only reason we bought it. i have no idea what could cause this beast to go from idle to about 8MPH without me pulling the Lever.

ive checked the lever, nothing wrong(not getting stuck). my pwc has now done this about 15 times, each time it only last for a few seconds but its not ideal when trying to navigate through large surf.

Now secondly, while in the large surf last weekend the IBR light and engine light simultaneously came on accompanied by a loud BEEEEEEEP!!! PWC would not go into Neutral or Reverse. powered down the PWC by pulling the key out and waited a while, i got behind it, wiggles the reverse gate around a bit, waiting a few minutes and powered back up with no issues. must have been stuck or some debris or sea weed in there somewhere.

thirdly and i guess most importantly,
ive read, watched, heard so many conflicting statements on how to properly flush after using in saltwater.

i see guys reving their ski's up dry and then hooking up the hose.

i know it goes Engine on, water on, water off, engine off.

my question is, how long to run before running water in, how long with water in, and how long after you turn water off? and am i supposed to rev it like i see all the other guys do?

any advice on any of these topics would be greatly appreciated.

Is your PWC still under warranty? If so, get it to the dealer asap for the acceleration issue. Even without a warranty, I would have that looked at, pronto.