2010 Challenger 180 Overheating - Long story

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Haggard

Hi All, I'm new to seadoos, new to boating, and I'm new to the forums. So I apologize in advance if this problem has been brought up already, I didn't find it in the searches I ran. Yesterday I took my Challenger out for the fourth time, I was getting more confident with it, that is until the tow rope got caught in the intake. The engine turned itself off to prevent damage, and long story short the boat was taken out of the water and I got all the rope out of the intake. I put it back in the water drove it around for a few minutes and didn't notice anything amiss that couldn't be chalked up to me just looking for something wrong. So I docked the boat at my slip figuring everything was ok.

Today I decided to take it out for a little fishing. The boat fired right up and before I could get from my dock to the entrance of the marina (about 100 yards) the console went into alarm flashing EXHAUST along with the temperature indication. I waited for it to cool off and started it up again to take it over to the launch drove it around a bit, sounded good but I noticed some smoke coming out the back end. Took the boat out of the water and this time the intake was packed with weeds. So my questions are as follows; Can weeds cause the types of problems I've described? What are the best ways to get the weeds out? What damage may have been caused by the rope incident? I've read the manual and I understand the error messages, but do you folks out there think that it's worth taking to the dealer to give it a once over, or will I be ok? Thanks to all that made it this far, believe it or not, this is the short story.