2009 Sea Doo RXT 215 RPM and speed are not what they oughta be. Help?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

jisgett

Hello all, and first, let me say thanks for some seriously funny AND informative posts. I'll try to be quick here.

I am new to watercraft but have spent a lot of time working on cars. If it needs repar, I would always rather do it myself.

Bought a 2009 RXT 215 that is gorgeous, 50 hours on it. BUT, I had my father do the check on it, since it was sold locally near where he lives. He said it ran great, and I took his word for it (bad on me, yes, I knew it, even then).

I took ski out for the first time last weekend, and here is the issue: It will not get higher than 6500 rpms or 53 mph with the yellow key. I spoke with a Sea Doo mechanic this morning and he thought, wear ring, impeller or supercharger replacement. I have read up on the forum as much as I can since I still have work to get to today.

From what I have read on the forum:

1. I will replace the plugs first, they may be at fault.
2. I will do a compression test on each of the three.
2. I may need to replace the impeller and/or wear ring.

Any other thoughts, and have I missed something else obvious? Looking for any constructive thoughts from you all, and thanks again. BTW, any preferences out there on plugs, or is this same/same as with cars.

Also, I have attached three pics of the impeller, wear ring, etc.impeller&ring_09rxt215.jpgimpeller&ring_2_09rxt215.jpgimpeller&ring_3_09rxt215.jpg

Your wear ring and impeller looks very good.
How do the plugs look? Right kind?
Compression?
Weeds in Grate????

SC usually need rebuild after 100 hrs or so.

others will chime in with a more definite answer.
just wait a bit.

May just need fresh gas as well. These skis do not like old gas.