2007 GTI SE 155 - Key Reprogram With DESS Post Replacement?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Reaction_Motors

Just bought a used 2007 Sea Doo GTI SE 155 from a dealership. I am relatively new to jet skis but have owned and repaired my own small boat motors for years. Ski started at the dealership but not at home. After some back-and-forth they agreed to replace the post under a 30-day dealership warranty. OK. But dealership said post replacement requires my current keys to be reprogrammed, which made me suspicious because I had read that post replacement was an easy DIY job. I have read here and elsewhere about details of how post works with MPEM. But...does a 2007 have an MPEM? Maybe the code reading function was imbedded in the post in the 2007s? I have been researching but no conclusive answer. (Shop annual says there is an MPEM, some forums say MPEM eliminated in 2007.) Just for my understanding in case of future problems, I am wondering whether I have an MPEM and whether keys really need to be reprogrammed with DESS post replacement. Also is there anything else peculiar about the 2007? Many thanks for any insight.

Just replacing the DESS post does not require to reprogram the keys. I did one last year and it was a simple process. You will have to cut a few wires but nothing complicated.

Of course I do not know your model precisely but I doubt it has something different from all other models. They all have MPEMs and they are all very similar (newer models now have a different post system).

In Canada, I paid my new post around $115 so I expect that you will find one below $100 USD. Get yourself some shrinking tubes as well to seal the wires when replacing it. The only tricky part is to remove the handlebar cover if you never did it before (hex screws on mine and a bit hard of reach) but the whole job should not take you more than one hour.