2006 gtx sc/ic seized

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

joe07

I just subscribed to this forum today and overall new to the Seadoo wrenching world I am a car/truck mechanic by trade and have rebuilt tons of engines for them. I have also done motorcycle engine/transmission rebuilds. Ill start off by thanking everyone for their help and patients with this noob to the Seadoo world.
I recently bought 2 skis and a trailer as a package deal a (2005 3d, and a 2006 4-tech sc/ic)
The 3d runs great the 4-tech had water in the oil (could not find out whole story as to why?) but it did run so I changed oil about 6 times(running it between with no filter) after that oil looked good ran good and sounded good on trailer so I took it to the lake this weekend got it off the trailer and up to 40 at wot it started to bog headed back to trailer and barely floated it back to ramp ad it died and wont restart (I assume engine is seized)
I am wanting to know everything I should do while I have engine out (rebuild sc, replace timing chain ect)
I only have about 600 in ski so don't really want to spend 3k on an engine so would like to do as much as possible myself
So im wanting as much info on a complete rebuild/upgrade as cost effective as possible

are you certain that the motor is done?? take off the supercharger intake hose and try to spin the supercharger wheel by hand.. if its tough to spin then you didn't loose the charger.. if it spins freely then I would start looking towards your rebuild options.. how many hours are on the machine? there might be some other plausible fixes that are much cheaper then a complete rebuild if you don't need one.

the engine started to bogg down and eventually died I assumed from bearings locking up... ill check charger tonight. the ski only has 89 hrs on it but I don't know how long it sat with water in crankcase and throughout oiling system...