2005 Sportster Rotax 4-tec

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

chad lanclos

2005 Sportster Rotax 4-tec starting problem

Hi I'm a newbie. Just bought my sportster 2 days ago. Both times I went to put it in the water it would not start. However, just before I would get in the water and just after I would get out, I would be able to start it. Does anyone have ANY idea why this might be happening? When in the water and lanyard is connected I get 2 beeps, engine will turn over but will not start. After everytime I try starting it, it'll be every few seconds 4 beeps. All fluid are good and batrery is charged. PLEASE HELP!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Chad,
The only thing i can think of is that in the water the impellers are trying to turn water so there is more load on the starter motor. If your battery is just good enough to start out of the water maybe it doesn't hold enough charge to start in the water.
I realize you say it is charged but have you had it load tested?

Hi Chad,
The only thing i can think of is that in the water the impellers are trying to turn water so there is more load on the starter motor. If your battery is just good enough to start out of the water maybe it doesn't hold enough charge to start in the water.
I realize you say it is charged but have you had it load tested?

Duh, thanks so much...we're not sure yet, but we think thats what it is...when we tested it, it had a very low voltage, so we have it charging now, and will try once again to take it out tomorrow. Will let you know if we succeed. Thanks again!

Don't just check the battery for 12 volts it needs to be LOAD tested. Meaning does it have 12 volts under a load, or power draw.

Karl

OK, that did not work. We even went and boat a new battery. It is still starting out of the water, but not in the water. Any other suggestions?
Thanks!