2005 RXP/RXT maintainence & care

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all!

I'm a new Seadoo owner and new to this forum so if my questions are answered else where, please feel free to direct me there.

I just purchased a Seadoos: 2005 RXP and a 2005 RXT. Picked up this past weekend and besides a couple of test runs, hoping to hit the water this weekend for my first real time out with them.

Any general tips, things to look for, best practices? Since I am new to this, I don't know anything but I love to learn.

My main concern is since I just spent a chunk of change on these things, I want to know the best way to take care of them. I like to perform as much maintenance as I possible can myself so any tips, tricks, recommendation, etc (best oil, when to change it, filters, rings, gaskets, wash, polish, wax, winterizing, etc)

P.S. I've heard about the supercharger problems with these machines and they have been rebuilt already -- approximately 50hrs ago. Each machine has about 150hrs ( i think one has 155 and the other has 135hrs) I've heard the rebuilt supercharger should last about 200hrs so i figure i should have at least 150hrs before another rebuild is necessary.

2005 RXP/RXT maintainence & care

Is it your intention to ride in fresh or salt water?

From 2004 to 2006 the 4-tec engine had hollow stem exhaust valves. They were filled with Sodium. The intent was to help in cooling the valve, the reality is, it created a weak spot, ]the valves broke and fell into the engine. As you can imagine, this causes SERIOUS damage. The bad valves have the number 72 stamped on them and the replacement valves have the number 75 stamped on them. The only way to know if yours have been swapped out is to pull the valve cover and look for the stamping.

Let us know where you plan on riding and then we will give better details.

View attachment 31033

Attachments