2004 Sporster LE, Single 2 Stroke Engine, Rotax, 8 BEEP PROBLEM.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all. Very new to this forum, but from what i've read I've learned quite a bit! I'm also very new in owning a SeaDoo ( one week!)... which has so far been a love hate relationship. Anyhow I hope someone could help me out here because even my local (89 miles away, local) SeaDoo authorized dealer doesn't know!!!!! Bought the boat last week from nice retired couple... immaculate interior/exterior... took out on the water the next day and after 2 or so hours of 55mph, half a tank of fuel and close to 7000 rpm with a 25 min break between... I get a continuous intermittent beep.
I dock, take the DESS lanyard off and put it back on and wham 8 beeps. Did this several times. Owners manual said defective MPEM. I immediately loaded the boat and before I disembarked on the 89 mile one way trip to the seadoo dealer I hooked the lanyard back up and still got 8 beeps.

Got to the dealer, manager puts dess lanyard on boat and no beeps other than the two brief normal ones. He must have thought I was nuts!!! Next day he hooked it up and said that the boat had thrown a "Low Voltage" error, and "fuel gauge problem (or something like that)" and they don't know when the boat threw those messages and they don't agree with the fuel gauge message because the gauge is working fine.

They were unable to reproduce the beep! They were also unable to read the HRS on the boat?! The battery is testing 12V prior to cranking and about 12-13 volts post cranking. The engine runs fine, boat accelerates fast! The boat fires right up! All gauges are working! All fuses good, no corrosion on MPEM male/female plugs! Oil is mixing fine, using seadoo recommended oil's and lubes. Engine is not overheating, I could touch it after running it two hrs. No misfires or knocking. Impeller system is free of debris!