2003 SeaDoo Islandia, safe buy?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ehughes413

I’m currently looking at a 2003 SeaDoo Islandia, I’ve heard horror stories but I’m wondering if this ones a safe buy. Overall seems to be in good shape. 200 hours Impeller drive system has been rebuilt recently (with receipts). 115psi in all cylinders (is that a little low?) I’m new to boating and I’m looking for something reliable that won’t cost me too much (at least as far as boats go lol). I’ve also heard jet drives can’t be kept in the water all season, is this true? Think it’s a safe buy? Thanks In advance!

compression seams low but if all cylinders have the same it should be fine. also depends on how it was checked to get the right reading.

My 2002 Challenger with the 240EFI has 150-160 psi on all cylinders. Is yours the model with the alternator? I've heard those are more reliable? (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Bought ours last season & had it out probably over a dozen times for all day trips, everything went off without a hitch except for a belt that the boat shredded, but I changed it and there's been no problem since.

I had a friend who happens to be a marine mechanic thoroughly go over the engine before purchase, I would suggest you do the same.

Last edited:
I’m currently looking at a 2003 SeaDoo Islandia, I’ve heard horror stories but I’m wondering if this ones a safe buy. Overall seems to be in good shape. 200 hours Impeller drive system has been rebuilt recently (with receipts). 115psi in all cylinders (is that a little low?) I’m new to boating and I’m looking for something reliable that won’t cost me too much (at least as far as boats go lol). I’ve also heard jet drives can’t be kept in the water all season, is this true? Think it’s a safe buy? Thanks In advance!
I own a 2001 Islandia with 240 Optimax