2002 Challenger M2 Jetdrive 240 EFI - changing Fuel Oil seperator filter every 1/2 hr

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

atlboo

Aloha Ya'll,

First post. Living in Hawaii but originally from Atlanta. Grew up around boats and am very handy with tools, motorcycles, and handiwork. I don't let the fact I am an Engineer get in the way of fixing things.

Picked up a 2002 Challenger X20 M2 Jetdrive 240 EFI about 2 months ago. Had it out 6 or 7 times and it starts right up (provided it's in neutral and the battery is turned on :)) and runs great. The issue is my fuel / water filter alarm goes off after about 15 or 30 minutes of run time and is full of water. So I unscrew it, dump it, and we are good to go for another 30 minutes. No other noticeable performance issues.

Being new to this engine and to jetboats, where should I start troubleshooting / poking to figure out how water is getting into the system?

1. We have been putting non-ethanol gas in the boat. Been through about three tanks with no difference. Nobody else at the marina reports problems, and it seems like way to much water to be from the fuel or condensation (and we live in Hawaii).
2. I'm, thinking it's very rare to have a hole in the plastic tank. I don't see my gas gauge "magically" filling without adding gas, and there is very little water / fluid in the bilge after a full day of running.
3. I was thinking it could be the seal on the gas cap? I plan to check that out.

I have the engine manual and am still searching /digesting. Didn't see this issue already on the forum, but please point me to the link if it's there.

Thanks ya'll!

did you try buying a new fuel water separator? I know mine would go off a lot before i got a new one

Pour the contents of the spin on filter into a clear jar and allow it to settle a few hours, report if you find water.