2001 Islandia Project

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

CoreyLeeHeim

This forum is incredible! So before I dive in to the wormhole and ask for everyones advice, I want to thank everyone that participates in this forum!

OK......

So I have been given a 2001 Islandia with the Merc. 240. Its been sitting uncovered for 3 years. Interior is trashed, but I am mostly concerned about how to get it running. I am a 10 year diesel mechanic but I've never attempted repair on a 2 stroke motor or any type of watercraft before.

Where do I start looking for problems, and how can I get this thing running at home out of the water? This is a jet boat so I assume you can't use the "muffs" like other boats. is there a port somewhere I can attach a water hose?

Also, all of the switches appear to be missing the labeling, so I would love to get my hands on an owners manual for the boat and a manual for the engine to identify all the components that I don't immediately recognize.

Is there still a decent stock of parts out there for this thing? Im for sure going to need to know where to get them when needed.

Super pumped to get this thing back to life, and hopefully, you guys will be able to keep up with my journey!

Posting pictures soon.....

Is the engine seized? Have you put in a charged battery? Is the deadman switch connected? Is shifter in neutral? Starter is interlocked to neutral.

Spark plugs: remove them all. Any sign of metal or rust? Metal is very bad- something is melted. Rust: engine may have been submerged in its history. Turn engine over by hand- should be no noise or binding. Key off, full throttle. Use starter to spin engine. Lightly SPRAY oil into each cyl. Time for compression test at full throttle. Looking for (hoping for) 125 psi or better. Replace NEW spark plugs NGK about $7 each local.