1999 yamaha waverunner 1200xl purchase

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
Don't want to frighten you but I have many years experience with these engines both regionally racing and bone stock recreation. Souns like you are lightly seizing one cylinder. This. Will manifest itself exactly as you describe. While I have personally seen many different reasons for this, by far the number one reason was a crank that had twisted a few degrees out of index. In effect this advances the timing in that cylinder causing it to overheat and lightly seize. Cools off and starts but will continue to do this until the repeated light seizures reduce compression and begins to be a very noticeable power deficit.

so do you know if its necessary to rejet with the cat removal and d-plate & chip in place???

Judy posting common possibilities based on my experiences. Have you checked the one way vent valve for the tank? Air should pass into the tank but not out.

how hard should it be to blow into the vent valve ? should it be free flowing or some resistance. im getting resistance but can still blow through it .

Last edited by a moderator:
how hard should it be to blow into the vent valve ? should it be free flowing or some resistance. im getting resistance but can still blow through it .

If the gas cap is on you will feel some resistance since the tank will actually pressurize. Take the gas cap off and you should be able to blow through with little/no restriction.

If the gas cap is on you will feel some resistance since the tank will actually pressurize. Take the gas cap off and you should be able to blow through with little/no restriction.

i had the the valve off altogether and it was definitely not without resistance, i would say on a scale of 1-10 it was a 5 in difficulty to blow through. But it should be say as easy as blowing through a straw?