1999 Seadoo Speedster / First Boat?

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

nman729

Hello all, I have been shopping around for a bit for a Seadoo jet boat. I have settled on the 99 speedster style for the better seat types and the dual engines. I went out to view one today and it was actually in pretty decent shape. He started it up for me and everything seemed great. At least to my knowledge since I am a boating NOOB.

Owner claims that it has been recently serviced, has all recepits which he showed me, and the starboard engine was completely replaced. I did not check compression, as I didnt want to seem to forward and wrench on a boat that isnt mine. Seats are in good shape, with a few minor cracks. Comes with a biminy top, cover and trailer. All lights work including nav lights, however stereo is not working, not sure if its head unit or speakers themselves. The only concern I have is that how soon will the port engine need a rebuild? Also, one of the blower caps (intake or exhaust not sure) on the port side is missing / broke off. Also, there is a fiberglass ding/hole about 2 inches in diameter way above the water line. Trailer also looks to be in pretty good shape.

He is asking $4,700 which I feel is a good price based on other listings in my area. I also felt good because he had a good looking shop in his garage with several seadoo / other PWC in good shape he claimed to be working on. He states that he does engine work on the skiis, not body work.

Anyways, I really like the boat and think its a good buy. Not great, but good, just wanted to get some professional opinions before I pull the trigger. Located in Northeast Ohio.

Last edited by a moderator:
Which model, the twin 787s or the SK with twin 717s?

You really have to do a compression test to give you any indication of engine health, then at least a 15 minute test ride.