1997 Sea Doo XP - Hesitation from Idle to Low Throttle & Uncommon Stall off Throttle

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

bluebobbo

Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie with PWC's (since I just got mine last weekend), so excuse my bad explanation of the problem... Doing the best I can. I read nearly all the threads on this type of issue for about 5 hours yesterday, so I'm aware of all the potential causes but I guess I need a more "newbie friendly" explanation/order as to what is the possible problem/solution and what people's experiences have been as to the "easiest" fix. So we're working with a 97 XP here, and here's the context and symptoms:

Context
Went for a ride last weekend and noticed right away that the first time I press the throttle, nothing happened. I would have to let off and then press the throttle again a second time before it worked. However, the second time, it would feel "laggy" or "hesitant" when going from idle to low speed/low throttle. Rode around for about 15-20 minutes. Once it gets into low throttle everything worked fine. Then, at one point I was idling in the middle of the lake to talk to the GF and then when I went to low throttle, it stalled. Took a few starts to get it to run again. Lastly, when I got back home I noticed a significant fuel smell coming from the engine compartment and the rear compartment where the impeller and driveshaft are. I know people will say it's "normal" but I have two 97 XP's and my other one I can barely smell any fuel which to me it seems more normal (but what do I know).

Symptoms
  1. Does not respond when pressing throttle first time, but responds second time. Second time is laggy/hestitant.
  2. At one point it stalled going from idle to low throttle on the first press.
  3. Smell of fuel from engine compartment and rear compartment. My other XP has very mild smell that seems more "normal"