1996 Sea Doo Sportster Bombardier forgot to put the plugs in.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

iamrusty

So the story behind this is I put the boat in for the first time (was running fine before that day). Went through my mental checklist but forgot to put the two plugs in before getting in and going. Went for a little bit on the water and then the engine shut down. Pulled it out, drained it and have had it drying out for the week.

I try running the engine now, and the engine isn't turning. I still get the two beeps when putting in the key. When I push the starter button (with or without choke) the engine doesn't even turn. I'm new to Sea Doo boats and pretty handy, but I need a little direction on how to fix up my rookie mistake. The battery is all charged, I replaced the spark plugs. Currently, I can't make heads or tails if it's the starter that's not working, or if it's the Rotax engine. I cleaned the carburetor and inspected it and it appears fine.

The current rig is hooked into a boat batter with an oil on/off valve installed. I worry if the engine is flooded and what steps to go from there. Any help or direction is most appreciative. Thanks!

I tried starting the engine without the spark plugs in and it's not turning at all. Is there a different way of making sure the water is out of that system? I looked at the starter and it appears it's got a bunch of gunk on it. I ordered a new starter for me to install.

I tried starting the engine without the spark plugs in and it's not turning at all. Is there a different way of making sure the water is out of that system? I looked at the starter and it appears it's got a bunch of gunk on it. I ordered a new starter for me to install.
You could try bypassing the solenoid to see if it’s shot. How long did you let it sit with water in it before trying to blow it out? Were the engines submerged?