1996 GSX Carburetor adjustment

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

obbceo

I am new to this so please bear with me.

I have 2 used 1996 GSX with the 787 engines and I can't figure out how to adjust the carburetors while they are on the engines. The screw for the left carb is accessible but the screw for the right carb is blocked by the exhaust pipe. I have bought 4 different carb adjusting tools and none of them can get on top of the screw in the tight space it is in. I will tell you the guy I bought the Seadoo Bombardiers from said he had the engines completely rebuilt so I'm not sure if they were rebuit to spec. Can any one tell me what tool I need and the proper way to adjust the carbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh and are the settings for the GSX the same as the XP so I know what the rpm setting should be. The shop manual I have doesn't list the GSX.

Thanks,

obbceo

I have the same ski and I always use the XP specs for my GSX engine wise they are almost the same ski.

The only screw I had problems adjust was the high speed screw and I was able to do that by using a Eye Glasses screw driver and just pushing on the head of the screw. The high speed screw should be all the way in anyways.

Thanks for the reply...

The shop manual I have says that the hi-speed can be adjust 1/4 turn so you're saying it should be turned clockwise til it stops?

Also if you don't mind could you define PTO and MAG carburetors. I think PTO stands for Power Take Off...and MAG is short for Magneto but what is the difference between a PTO carb and a Magneto carb since they look identical. And what does Magneto mean?

Again thanks for your help. This is a whole new world for me.

obbceo

Pto and mag refer to the carbs at those respective ends, most likely you'll find your pto carb nearest the rear.