1993 SP Compression question

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil Poeschl

Hi Guys (and Gals),

I am a newbie to the PWC world. I have boated for a few years but this fall I decided to pick up a project for the long Minnesota winter. I found an old 93 SP that had been sitting in some guys backyard for 5 years. Fortunately, he had a cover on it and his yard was total shade so the unit, while really dirty was not in that bad of shape. Only paid $200 with the trailer. So brought it home. First thing I did was pulled the starter as it was frozen up. Ended up it was rusted inside. Cleaned it up, threw in a set of brushes and a bendix and it works perfectly. Put in a new battery, it cranked over but would not start. Took the carb off and found someone had really messed that up too. Put a kit in it, primed it and the ski started right up.

It’s too cold to take it out to see how it runs on the lake. My question is, I checked the compression and it reads 120/125. IS this acceptable or should I just pull the jugs and inspect, maybe throw in a set of rings? Any advice would be appreciated.

150 is perfect. 120 is time for some sort of rebuild. Many do just a top end and are happy with the results. Do you still have the Grey Tempo fuel lines?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

All the lines inside were changed when I got it and look to be in great shape. As far as a rebuild, what can happen if I don't? Will I cause more damage? Secondly, is it usually just rings or is it rings and pistons?