02 4-Tec - At speed and then No Thrust

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Harry Reynolds

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting - and under bad circumstances. This weekend we were cruising along and all of the sudden nothing. Engine runs fine, but almost zero thrust. It was just enough to get us back to the ramp. Not know what it is supposed to look like, I'm not sure if anything is wrong. All of the blades on the impeller look good and straight. Any ideas?

Hows the wear ring. Was the ski vibrating more than normal. You have to give more info on the situation. was it the first time out this year. did the light come on and beep at you. Could be limp mode. do you have oil. is there crap in the fuel. do a compression test. did you store it with no fuel? lots of variables and causes but not enough information given to give you the answer. You can check the wear ring by removing the reverse, steering, and opas bolts. Also you have to remove that little hose from the top of the jet pump. I am talking about the exterior of the ski on the jet pump. Then you remove the 4 nuts that are closest to the transom. This will allow you to pull the pump off and check out the impeller to make sure your bearings are good and spin free, also the wear ring and nothing stuck in the impeller. MAKE SURE that when you remove the pump you are careful. DO NOT snag anything because you can easily break the plastic nuts on the steering and reverse cables. Then you go out and have no steering.

The Compression you can get a cheap gauge from auto parts store. Make sure to disconnect all of the plugs (coil packs) and remove the plugs, then test one cyl at a time. if you cant start it first then put a few drops of gas of light oil in the plug hole to help get a true reading.