Contemplating a purchase, compression, sinking, and other question.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

keyser

Hello everyone, glad to be a part of the forum and look forward to learning a lot from this place. I am new to pwc's, but am mechanically inclined and have worked on motorcycles and a couple of boats successfully. A friend of mine is selling 2 jetskis with trailer and wants $2k for all. I am told they have only seen fresh water and that the last time they were run was last summer.

The first is a 1995 Seadoo GTX 657x. It starts/runs, I checked compression cold with both spark plugs out, boots grounded. Compression on the front was 130, rear was 140. At what point do you normally rebuild the top end without knowing hours? The gauges don't appear to work at all, I pulled the main information gauge and will try following the wires, but the LCD looks burned anyway. I was told that it takes on water and that it was from a bad carbon seal and I have a new one included (does that make sense as to the leak?)

The second is a 2000 Yamaha GP760. Compression cold is 140/150. Starts/runs.

Both have some cosmetic imperfections but that's not a big deal to me. I intend to run them in brackish/saltwater in north Florida, so I intend to delete the oil injections and run premix gas, will change lines, rebuild carbs, and change plugs before putting them to use. Does this seem like a decent price?