2005 GTI LE RFI starting problems

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated

ChadWalsh23

Jet ski newbie here, I picked up a 2005 GTI RFI that wasn’t running. The previous owners said it ran fine on the lake, they shut it off then it wouldn’t start again. They replaced the solenoid, but still no luck so it sat until I bought it. I tore into the motor some, did a top end kit, and ended up finding out the starter was the problem. Replaced the starter, and it fired right up out of the water, I only let it run for a couple seconds since I didn’t have a hose hooked up. Ended up putting it in the water on Sunday, but it wouldn’t start in the water. Cranked, and cranked but no start. Had spark, and fuel. Pull it out of the water and after a couple cranks it fires up. Put it in the water and it just feels super bogged down, like it needed to be cleared out. It ended up dying and hasn’t started since. Any guesses where to start? I’m going to check the injectors later today.

I'm going to follow because I'm working on the same issue with an 04. Ive checked everything and I've been trying to tell my husband we need all new batteries in them but he says since they're readig 12.4 they're fine. I'm taking them to be load tested because I'm usually right. Have you tested yours? RFIs have a heavier draw so dipping below 8 can cause similar issues

Mine has a brand new battery. It’ll start up out of the water for a split second, but won’t stay running. I’m going to try cleaning the injectors next. I’ve tried searching this forum and google, can’t find any info on what to check.

Mine will crank 4x and pretend it's ready to go and trick me into driving 45 min to the ramp. I did raves today but got down to my last 6 lobe and had dropped 3 things beneath the engine.