Visit PWCMuscle.com
for 15% off all Hydro Turf - CODE: HYDRO15
    Watercrafts
    95 Sea Doo Sportster
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0 Given: 0

Default Leaking shaft seal

I'm new here and to seadoo boats. I just bought a 95 sportster and one thing I noticed is that alot of water is coming in around the driveshaft where is goes through the hull. I've been doing some reading here and from what I've learned I think there is a carbon seal around the shaft that probbaly needs replacing. There is also a rubber tube which is hose clamped onto the shaft just inside of the hull opening.
    I guess I'll have to take the pump off to replace that seal but is there any kind of temporary fix to keep the thing from leaking so much? I don't have much season left this year and I'd hate to lose any water time since I just got the boat. Over the winter I plan on going through it and fixing all that I can.
    As I said, I'm a noob to Sea Doo boats and any and all advice is welcome.
    Thanks,
    Sea Dooby
    I should have said I have a 95 sportster
    Last edited by Sea Dooby; 08-12-12 at 08:51 AM. Reason: left out information

0 Not allowed!

2. # ADS

SeadooForum Pro
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 108 Given: 12

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Dooby View Post
    I'm new here and to seadoo boats. I just bought a 95 sportster and one thing I noticed is that alot of water is coming in around the driveshaft where is goes through the hull. I've been doing some reading here and from what I've learned I think there is a carbon seal around the shaft that probbaly needs replacing. There is also a rubber tube which is hose clamped onto the shaft just inside of the hull opening.
    I guess I'll have to take the pump off to replace that seal but is there any kind of temporary fix to keep the thing from leaking so much? I don't have much season left this year and I'd hate to lose any water time since I just got the boat. Over the winter I plan on going through it and fixing all that I can.