Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Tach on 96 XP

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    La Porte, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Watercrafts
    1996 XP
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default Tach on 96 XP

    I have a 96 xp and I am trying to hook up a tach that I got from a seadoo dealer.. The instruction are listed for a GTS and GTX and in the instruction it wants me to hook up the wire from the tach to a yellow/black wire.. I do not have this wire in my box.. As I was reading the serive manual for my bike there is a Gray/White wire off the MPEM that states it is RPM data to the MPEM.. Can I hook the tach wire to this wire and make it work right?? A while back a seadoo dealer wanted me to by a module that goes to a GTS bike and replace mine.. I am not sure this would work though.. Please help with any info... Justin

    0 Not allowed!

  2. # ADS

    Join Date
    Location
    Posts
     

  3. #2
    seadoosnipe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    9,833
    Watercrafts
    1997 Challenger, 1997 GTX , 1991 SP and a shop with 2 spare 787cc's and a bunch of parts laying arou
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 0


    Default I'm still lookin....

    I'm still looking Justin....give me minute

    Yeah, some of these guys want you to buy stuff that will screw your stuff up, so they can make your money fixing it for you.

    I'm still working on crossing this over. It seems the GTS and XP have entirely different electrical systems. Trying to focus on those little lines, giving me a headache. DO NOT HOOK THAT WIRE TO THE MPEM.

    The idea of hooking to the yellow/grey wire is as close as I can come right now. The yellow/grey wire is being sent from your rectifier as a signal wire to your mpem and info center. The yellow/black looks like it's not for you.

    I need to know what color your original tachs wires were and how many. The same with the new one.

    0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by seadoosnipe; 06-05-08 at 10:40 PM.
    Looking for tips and advice, researched articles on carbs, spark plugs and general maintenance can be found at Snipes Korner. You can also follow me on "Twitter".

    Quality parts at low prices, visit Seadoowarehouse right here in our own forum. Please PM me if you are having a problem finding what you need!

    Is your jet ski fast? Do you want your XP or RXP to stand out? I know a place that has what you need to make it faster. Make your jetsksi a muscle craft, not just the ordinary, standard stock ski.

    Seen my GTX?... Those awesome graphics can be purchased from JetSki Detailing. Tell them Seadooforum sent you.

    Ever wonder what the inside of your 787cc engine looks like. Want to identify the parts, check out my thread on the 787. I'm sure there is something for everyone who want to learn about the internal parts.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    La Porte, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Watercrafts
    1996 XP
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default

    Thanks for the replay Seadoosnipe...

    On the 96 xp bikes there is no tach from the factory.. I bought a factory seadoo tach and was trying to wire it to my bike.. There are three wires off the tach a purple, black/white, and gray/white.. The purple wire wires in to the box, I think that is a power wire.. The black/white wire is a ground and that hooks up fine on the box. The Gray/White wire states to hook up to the yellow/black. This is the wire that I do not have as my bike did not have a factory tach.. I am trying to find out what wire I can hook this up to to make the tach work.. There has to be some kind of tach wire in the box as these bikes have a rev limiter.. What wire is giving the the bikes rpm to the rev limiter and can I hook to this??? Thanks

    0 Not allowed!

  5. #4
    freebie fixer scooper77515's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Lake Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,302
    Watercrafts
    '03 Glastron GX-185 4.3 V-P I/O Fresh out of Seadoos!
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default Keenly Interested...

    I want to do the same thing, so let me know how it turns out.

    Where are you mounting the tach?

    My VTS doesn't work so I was hoping to pop that gauge out and put a tach in that hole.

    If you figure it out, could you PM me the part number and how you finally got it wired?

    What part of Texas are you riding in?

    0 Not allowed!

  6. #5
    kustomkarl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sunny S.W. coast of Englewood, Florida
    Posts
    11,229
    Watercrafts
    1996 Chris Craft 26' Cruiser, Kawasaki 440 Superstock, 550 Mod., 2008 200Speedster 310 Hp
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 0


    0 out of 1 members found this post helpful.

    Default

    BIKE? uh... I thought these were water craft... just kidding...The Purple is the hot wire. The Black /White wire is the ground. You would connect it to the same color codes from the spedo.The Gray/White is the pulse from the tach pulse. I checked all the xp models and the GSX, HX,SP, SPX ,GTI,GS,GTX, GSI for all tech applications in 1996 and 97 and found that the Gray wire is the correct pulse wire for the tech, but it isn't found on models that weren't equipped with a tech from the factory. The Yellow/Black on all models is the wire coming from the charging coil in the magneto to the rectifier, on all models. I don't believe that you would want to have current into the tech from this wire. I don't believe that that model could have a tech as it is missing the sensor to divert the pulse to the tech...I would contact the selling dealer you purchased the tech from and go with their advise of the connection of the pulse wire Gray/White for the tach.

    Keep us posted on you progress from the selling dealer.

    Karl

    0 Not allowed!
    Please, If you have a "troubleshooting" request, use the correct category in the Sea-Doo Forum first.

    "Premium / Subscribed Members", not getting an answer, pm me directly for Expert Advise.



    When your ready for more performance, click on the this link!

    Click to order your Sea-Doo Parts at a fair price.

    Click here to view/join our Group on "Face Book"

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    La Porte, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Watercrafts
    1996 XP
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default

    Hey Kustomkarl thanks for the response.. I was on the right trail with the purple and black/white wires.. The selling dealer told me to get MPEM to a part # 278 000 897 which looks like it fits a seadoo GSX and GTX from a 96 year seadoo.. What is the differences in this module from mine?? Can I switch these modules out and my bike still start and run correctly, does anyone know???

    0 Not allowed!

  8. #7
    SeadooForum Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,505
    Watercrafts
    restored 1995 seadoo sportster
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default

    If it works it sounds like it may be the most exspencive tach installation on the market.

    0 Not allowed!

  9. #8
    seadoosnipe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    9,833
    Watercrafts
    1997 Challenger, 1997 GTX , 1991 SP and a shop with 2 spare 787cc's and a bunch of parts laying arou
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 0


    Default No....you can't switch mpem...

    I studied your electrical drawings last night in detail, just didn't make a post. In every application of any engine, you can apply a tach......even on a lawnmower engine. The tachs impulse line runs off the pick up/ trigger coil of the magneto, that tells the engine when to fire in sequence. Problem is, whith your rectifier wires being all the same color, I thought is might be your grey/white wire coming from your pickup coil. But here, your taking a chance. BUT, if you look at the wires coming from your magneto pick up/trigger coil, there is a BL/YL wire and a YL/WH wire.

    These wires send in impulse to the mpem so that it can deliver the data to the coil. A rpm gage works on this circuit, in any applicaton. Whether its a car, motorcycle, plane.........doesn't matter. RPM comes from the electrical signal that pops an impulse each time the crank makes one revolution.

    The only problem, is I can't determine which wire you'd need to tap into from your magneto.

    The other thing I'd point out. Your mpem does have the rpm signal going to it from one of these wires, I checked. The mpem is what uses that signal to keep you from over revving. That's how your rev limiter works.

    I don't see a need for you to have a need to know what your rpm is, while the engine is running. You can not over rev your engine. It is protected by the rev limiter of your mpem.

    But if it's a must, I'd try a connector from the YL/WH wire. If you connect the purple and black up the way it's suppose to, there shouldn't be any consequences if its wrong, but to blow the fuse.

    0 Not allowed!

  10. #9
    SeadooForum Pro
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    1,505
    Watercrafts
    restored 1995 seadoo sportster
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default

    I may be mistaken but I believe that I have read that any seadoo analog tach will work but a resister will have to be added to stator wire going to tach If it is not pre wired for a tach. I do believe if you search the web you will be able to find out for sure. good luck Robin

    0 Not allowed!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    La Porte, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Watercrafts
    1996 XP
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default

    The factory Seadoo tach that I purchased has a resister built into the wire on the tach side of the connection.. I will try to tap into that wire and see how it goes.. If any one has done this before and has any other ideas, please let me know... Thanks

    0 Not allowed!

  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    11
    Watercrafts
    2 x 96 XP
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default Use a GTX tachometer and MPEM

    This thread is very old, but was most helpful. Here is a basic outline of what I did to get the GTX tach to work with my 96 XP - with a few updates on the wiring and MPEM questions from above:

    Picked up tachometer from a 96 GTX, and decided to go for the swap. Using the spare electronics box shell (CDI side only) from a 96 GTX, you can cleanly wire in all the needed connections for the rpm gauge to function - just note this method only works in conjunction with the 96 GTX MPEM (278000897) as it includes the essential grey colored pulse signal wire. The stock 96 XP MPEM (278000510) may work if a suitable pulse signal could be found (possibly using wiring for the rev limiter). One extra access point needs to be drilled into the electronics box for the grey pulse wire, but the pre-existing power and ground connection can be utilized.

    - A group of three wires coming out of the tach will be used (remaining wires can be clipped or zip-tied out of the way):

    Grey wire - RPM pulse signal input from MPEM (connect to grey wire on MPEM)
    Purple wire - 12 VDC power source for tachometer (connect to red/blue wire on MPEM)
    Black wire - Ground for tachometer (connect to ground post)

    The red/blue wire coming off the gtx MPEM is power to the instruments (oil/fuel/etc) so the purple 12 VDC wire from the tachometer needs to connect here. The black ground wire from the tachometer connects to a ground post next to the rectifier. The grey pulse wire connects right in to the MPEM. Place zip ties on the loose wires in the box and put everything back together neatly - fire it up and you should have a working tachometer!

    -Very good idea to start this project with a spare electronics box from a 96 GTX to keep the additional wiring somewhat consistant.
    -I used the DESS key from the GTX. Otherwise, you will need to reprogram your existing keys to work with the new MPEM.
    -You can re-use wire-end electrical clips from the spare gtx box - enabling easy removal of the tach from the electrical system.
    -Sell your old XP MPEM and GTX CDI later to recoup some of the cost. Net cost - about $50.
    -The stock 96 XP electronics box (cdi side) can be used as well, but will require additional wire routing.
    -Excluding the grey wire on the GTX, both MPEMs appear to have identical wiring schemes and are interchangeable from GTX to XP.
    -Mount the tach to the right side of the DESS post, just clears the steering control.
    -Enjoy!

    0 Not allowed!
    Last edited by revhardXP; 08-05-10 at 04:02 PM.

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    sa,tx
    Posts
    2
    Watercrafts
    96 seadoo gsx 787 rotax
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0


    Default hokked one up alrerady

    Quote Originally Posted by Justin View Post
    I have a 96 xp and I am trying to hook up a tach that I got from a seadoo dealer.. The instruction are listed for a GTS and GTX and in the instruction it wants me to hook up the wire from the tach to a yellow/black wire.. I do not have this wire in my box.. As I was reading the serive manual for my bike there is a Gray/White wire off the MPEM that states it is RPM data to the MPEM.. Can I hook the tach wire to this wire and make it work right?? A while back a seadoo dealer wanted me to by a module that goes to a GTS bike and replace mine.. I am not sure this would work though.. Please help with any info... Justin
    i hooked one up on my 96 gsx all i had to do was connect the grey wire from the tach to a pulse wire from the magneto on my engine it was the yellow and white wire i traced it all the way back to electrical box spliced it inside the electrical box. tach works great .

    0 Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. tach stopped working???
    By 93'XP in forum 2-Stroke Sea-Doo PWC forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-22-08, 08:58 PM
  2. Tach & speedo dead after dealer installed new engine
    By robobob2u in forum 2-Stroke SeaDoo Sport Boat Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-09-08, 11:38 PM
  3. Hardline Tach/Hour Meter
    By 92GTX93 in forum 2-Stroke Sea-Doo PWC forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-07, 10:23 PM
  4. 1995 xl 750 tach inop
    By camsales in forum Non-Seadoo PWC Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-07, 10:40 AM

Members who have read this thread : 12

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register forum what's new